G-Cloud (Government Cloud)

Contributor(s): Kathleen Casey and Caitlin White

Government Cloud, also referred to as G-Cloud, is a U.K. government program to promote government-wide adoption of cloud computing.

The G-Cloud framework supports the U.K. government's Cloud First policy, which was introduced in 2013 to encourage public sector organizations to evaluate and pursue cloud-based services rather than on-premises alternatives.

G-Cloud framework

To find technology suppliers and purchase services that are affiliated with the U.K. Government G-Cloud, public sector organizations can use the Digital Marketplace.

Content Continues Below

Government agencies can buy services via the Digital Marketplace from cloud computing providers, including AWS, Microsoft and Google.

Within the G-Cloud framework, organizations can choose from three categories of cloud services:

  • cloud hosting: infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) and platform-as-a-service (PaaS) offerings;
  • cloud software: software-as-a-service (SaaS) applications; and
  • cloud support: support and maintenance services for cloud hosting and software.

As of the 9th iteration of the G-Cloud Framework, buyers can enter into a contract with their chosen service provider for a maximum term of 24 months with the option to extend.

Beyond G-Cloud, public sector organizations can use the Digital Marketplace to purchase services that fall under two other frameworks from the U.K. government: the Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework and the Crown Hosting Data Centres framework.

This was last updated in June 2018

Continue Reading About G-Cloud (Government Cloud)

Dig Deeper on Cloud application development

Join the conversation

1 comment

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

What other types of services would you like to see added to the Digital Marketplace for G-Cloud?