Ten cloud computing definitions you need to know


1. SaaS, PaaS and IaaS

Source:  Mike Kloran

SaaS, PaaS and IaaS are considered the three pillars of the cloud computing service model. Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) is the delivery of equipment -- servers, virtual machines (VMs), networking components -- over a network. Platform as a Service (PaaS) is the delivery of hardware and operating systems; SaaS, or Software as a Service, refers to Web-hosted applications, such as security, email and other communications. Each service has its own benefits and capabilities, including on-demand access and a pay-as-you-go structure. SaaS, PaaS and IaaS combine to create the SPI model, but each service can stand alone or be used in different configurations in the enterprise.

Read about SaaS, PaaS and IaaS
The straight dope on Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) cloud vendors
Is PaaS just another four-letter word in cloud computing?
The reinvention of SaaS
PaaS selection starts at the programming language

View All Photo Stories